The Imitation Game- A Movie Review

I never intended to write a review of this movie, or of any movie, for this blog. In fact, I don’t want it to just be a place where I review media, whether it be television, film, books, etc. I’d much rather be analyzing not only this, but other elements of society as well. However, I feel that this movie demands to be reviewed, because it tells a story that too many people outside of the world of computer-science, or science/mathematics in general, do not know. And that is the story of Alan Turing and the Engima Code.

Prior to knowing of this movie’s production, I didn’t know who Alan Turing was, nor what the Enigma Code was. I have a relatively good knowledge of World War 2 and the time period, thanks to school, my historically-minded father and my own interest, but I knew nothing of these topics. As a result, I knew nothing of Turing’s sexuality (he was gay) and his post-war treatment by the British government. This in particular strikes a cord with me due to my own sexuality, and while you may think this biases me in the film’s favor, let me tell you that I am not inclined to like a film simply because it has an LGBTQIA person in it. If anything, I am more critical for fear of a complex man being reduced to  a stereotype or of him losing all other characteristics besides being gay.

I am happy to report that this was not the case in the slightest with The Imitation Game. Benedict Cumberbatch’s portrayal of Turing is nuanced and humanizing. The film could have gone the way of making Turing seem the cold, uncaring genius, instead it shows us a man who was not only brilliant and eccentric, but also deeply caring and emotional. There is a stereotype of scientists and mathematicians that they are sexless, and are often portrayed in an asexual light, but Turing was anything but and The Imitation Game fully embraces his sexuality and thankfully gives the other code breakers shown the same complexity.

In particular, Joan Clarke (played by Keira Knightley) is given an especially large role and is the only female face given any depth, though many women are seen working at Bletchley Park (doing important work I might add, though they weren’t given the same credit or important positions as the men). Clarke is depicted as an exceptionally intelligent woman and she and Turing become good friends after Turing recognizes her brilliance while others only see a woman. I am pleased to say that Ms. Clarke is not an amalgamation of many women, but actually existed and in much the capacity shown in the film. The Imitation Game unflinchingly portrays sexism just as it does homophobia, a welcome detail in creating a fuller and more realistic picture of the time.

Despite being a film about Turing’s life, breaking the Enigma code is definitely shown as a team effort. Turing’s brilliance is highlighted, as are his personal struggles, but other key members of the team, such as Hugh Alexander, are given importance too and are given human depictions, so that they come off as much more than side characters.

The plot could not be more exciting or interesting and even those who aren’t as familiar with World War 2 history will be enthralled by the code breaking, as well as immediately understand it’s importance. But Alan Turing is the real star of the show here. He is the heart of the film. It is him you are there to see and you will not be disappointed.

He is why the film is so good and it is a shame that not more people knew his story before this movie, but hopefully The Imitation Game will rectify this, as well as do the same for a number of other forgotten scientists and mathematicians. Because if there was one thing I wanted to do after leaving the theatre, it was learn more about Alan Turing and the other unsung heroes of Bletchley Park and code-breaking in general.

2 thoughts on “The Imitation Game- A Movie Review

  1. Those of us who know about Alan Turing are also thankful for his other accomplishment – the development of the Turing Test. He was treated abysmally by the British Government. He was a man ahead of his time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment